22 March 2013 Live Blog: The Day ALL The Sports Happened

Second day of the first round of the NCAA Tournament, World Cup Qualifying games galore, there was too much going on today for me to ignore.  So, I decided to tackle it all head on and live blog for the first time in my career, and honestly I think it went pretty well, but of course I’m looking forward to improve in the future.  If you want to read it chronologically, scroll all the way to the bottom and read your way to the top.

00:40: The Gophers are going to cruise to victory, and that’s gonna do it for the day.  If you stayed with me the whole day, thanks a lot.  If you showed up even once, thanks a lot.  Hope you guys come back for more here at Will Call!

00:28: Breathe easy, Western Kentucky has been bested by the Jayhawks.

00:07, 23 March: USA 1-0 Costa Rica.  +3 points, and into second place behind Honduras and ahead of Mexico.  Let’s add some separation on Tuesday!

23:50: Notre Dame has massively disappointed me.

23:28: And the ref has found good sense, and the match WILL continue.  Let’s go!

23:26: So… the match is being stopped in Denver?

23:20: Minnysohta, don’tcha know.

23:00: Don’t look now, Western Kentucky is also trying to ruin your bracket.

22:54: Hopefully that potential penalty doesn’t come back to affect the scoreline of this USA match.

22:51: I’ve brought the Minnesota game up on my laptop since I don’t get TruTV, my last upset pick of the first round.

22:36: Grounds crew out shoveling snow off of the lines on the field.  Reminds me of my work in baseball television, especially dealing with rain delays.  My view, if you need to drag the infield EVERY HALF INNING, you need to call a rain delay.

22:27: GOAL!  Clint Dempsey gets a ricochet to bounce his way and slots it to the back of the wide open net.  1-0 USA!

22:25: @JamesTaylorESPN: This weather should help the #USMNT soon. After all, it closely mimics the temperature at which Brad Friedel is stored.

22:24: It’s tougher to follow the soccer ball around the pitch in this blizzard than it is to follow a puck during a hockey match.

22:20: A weird thing is happening, I’ve got the USA Soccer match both on my laptop and television right now, and my laptop feed is actually running faster than the television.  Weird.

22:14:  You’re either going to dunk the ball, or you aren’t Ejim.  Apparently that time, you chose to lose.

22:11: Kyle: “The lime green makes me cringe” Mike: “I could do without the socks, but [the jerseys] aren’t deplorable”// It’s been agreed upon that we could go without the socks.  However, the green goes really well on the white jersey, I think.

21:59: Notre Dame FINALLY wearing the white variants of their Adidas Zubaz jerseys, and I’ve actually gotta say I like them.

21:52: Getting ready for the Notre Dame game on CBS, and from there this live blog is going to split back into equal parts basketball and soccer as the United States gets ready for a World Cup Qualifier in the snow at Rio Tinto Stadium in Salt Lake City, Utah Denver.  What a day this has been.

21:28: VILLANOVA, WHY.

21:15: Commence train wreck.  Georgetown’s out.  Leave your mark in the new poll to the right.

21:10: Correction, loss in the sweet sixteen, but again, I need them to get there.  And it’s not looking all that good.

21:08: Starting to really feel the pressure of this Georgetown game.  I’ve got them losing to Minnesota in the Elite 8, but I need them to at least GET THERE.

20:59: That free throw for FGCU went off the rim twice, off the top of the backboard and through.  Are you kidding me?  And then that jam!?  Hello, FGCU.

20:58: MAKE YOUR FREE THROWS

20:19: Meanwhile, Georgetown is in danger of wrecking EVERYBODY’S brackets while trailing Florida Gulf Coast by 13 in the second half.  Oh my.

20:11: Any time now Nova.

19:36: …or maybe it’s time for Villanova to prove me wrong.

19:17: Time for Villanova to prove me right against North Carolina.

18:59: The Fighting Illini fight on for one more day after overcoming a 11:30 minute drought to start the second half.  Definitely need to work on that free throw shooting though.  I-L-L!

18:26: Illinois is doing things I’d rather they would not, like shoot themselves out of the game for instance.

17:35: And just like that, Robson-Kanu nods down a quickfire double for Wales to put them in front.  March Madness is international.

17:34: Robert Snodgrass gets sent off for Scotland and gives up a penalty in the process which allows Wales to level the match in the 72 minute.  1-1 in Scotland.  (If you care)

17:23: La Salle is doing things I’d rather they would not.

17:20: DJ RICHARDSON

17:09: DJ pulling threes in transition for the Illini, put your city on the map!

17:04:  Just one of those days.

16:42: I-L-L!!!!

16:22: While I wait to watch Illinois play, I’ve tuned in to the Scotland v Wales World Cup Qualifying match.  Today’s a great day to be s a sports fan.

15:47: Scott Wood from NC State and Temple have doubly ruined my day.

15:43: As a Cub fan, I can’t think of a more disappointing season as a fan than NC State this year.

15:31: MAKE YOUR FREE THROWS NC STATE!

14:40: Marshall Henderson has ruined my day.

14:07: NC State playing almost how I expected.  I need them to pick up the pace here.

13:42: The first of “my” teams are playing today with NC State getting underway with a wide open CJ Leslie throwing down a dunk to get on the board first.  Let’s go Wolfpack!

10:33: Fabio Contrao comes through for Portugal as Israel was unable to withstand Portugal’s heavy attack in the waning moments of stoppage time.  Final score of this thrilling match is 3-3, and we’re left wondering about what could have been 3 whole points for Israel.

10:11: GOAL FOR ISRAEL!  Israel leads 3-1 over Portugal after a brilliant header from a poorly given away corner.  Portugal in danger of missing a World Cup for the first time in 3 competitions, and just like that Portugal strike back from a great run into the box by Ronaldo and a great pass across the mouth of goal to be tapped home.  You should be watching this one on ESPN3.

10:05: The day has only barely started here on the East Coast of the United States, yet the Portugal National Team is in danger of losing to Israel in a UEFA World Cup Qualifier.  A little less than a half hour remaining and the Israelis lead 2-1 in Portugal Tel Aviv.  Thrilling stuff here.

Just so you know, this is the start of my live blog to encompass all (or most) of the NCAA Tournament games, as well as the United States’ World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica tonight.  Stay tuned!

Leave a comment